sustainably smitten

A community of ideas to celebrate, nuture, and protect our planet for generations to come

The Power of One

Lately I have been thinking a lot about how every decision we make for good, spurs others like it, that when people go out of their way to express kindness to us, we likewise want to recipricate by spreading that same type of goodness to others. This past month I’ve been observing how simple things,  like someone graciously letting me in their lane on the way to work, instills in me the desire to forgo my right of way for another, even if that means sitting for a couple more minutes at a light. The other day someone paid for my frozen yogurt because they noticed I didn’t have cash, which made me look for an opportunity to pay it forward, and helped a woman, juggling 3 kids, get settled with all of the forks, napkins, and straws she would need for their lunch date at Costco. The same is true with volunteering or giving, when someone tells you where they are getting plugged in throughout the community, you begin to recognize that you can give that same gift and look for an opportunity to serve. This video reminds me of the power of one person’s bold action that spurs others on toward love and good deads. Enjoy!

One comment on “The Power of One

  1. Tammy
    November 11, 2012

    Oh my goodness! I have tears streaming down my face. That was so joyful!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2012 by in do good, inspiration and tagged , , , .
