sustainably smitten

A community of ideas to celebrate, nuture, and protect our planet for generations to come

“Geek”ed about School Supplies

Growing up, I was one of those kids who couldn’t wait to peruse the school supply aisles to find new folders and notebooks, getting a leg-up on classroom organization weeks before the school bells rang. Likewise, at the end of the year, I felt compelled to finish my classroom workbooks over the summer just for FUN! Weird, I know. No more back to school shopping for this girl, but sharp crayons, lunch organizers, and cutsie binders still get me excited, so I thought I’d share some back to school items that piqued my interest because they are not only handy, but also because you can feel good about buying them!

When looking for paper products, such as notebooks, folders, etc. look for the % of recycled content (PCW) and/or the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) logo, letting you know that the paper was sustainably harvested.

These notebooks from Smock, hailing from Upstate New York, kind of made me hyperventilate. Hey, I don’t have to take notes anymore, but I still am fanatical about making lists… I should probably get 8 of them. The corally-red notebook on the far right has a cute foiled cover that is made from 100% Post-consumer wrapping paper!

For your penmanship needs…. THE SEVEN YEAR PEN 

Worldwide, 100 million pens are disposed of every day! Selzer Goods is trying to amend this by creating a pen that allows you to write 1.7 meters a day for 7 years, and they donate a portion of your purchase to environmental causes!

And in case all of this writing makes you hungry – Lunch Time Organizers!

Bento Boxes

Reusable Snack Bag by BonTons on Etsy

Insulated Lunch Bag by BonTons on Etsy

Leave a Reply

